A Sweet Moment

It was around midnight.

I was half asleep. My eyes were closed but I could sense that Mr. was turning off his computer and came into the bed.

He lay down and turned off the light.

In the darkness, I heard that he was whispering towards me:

“It’s so good that you are in my life.”

He thought that I had been fallen asleep so he wasn’t really talking to me, nor expecting me to respond.

He fell asleep soon after without noticing my being half awake.

I stayed half-awake for a while wondering if there was anything sweeter, and thinking that I must have done something good in my past to deserve a sweet moment like this.

Well, I am not going to sugar coat our marriage.

Like any marriages, we have our moments when we fight, or he frustrates me, and/or vice versa.

Nevertheless, when a sweet moment like this happened, it’s only fair to record it so I don’t forget.

And if you are curious how this can happen after 19 years of being together?

Well, all the lectures/rules/wisdom for marriages aside, I can only say that I thank God for this marriage every single day.

It does not mean that we don’t take care of our marriage;

It means that I understand by now that there are so many factors can put influence on a marriage: timing, personalities, self-growth, life’s uncertainties……

It means that I am old enough to know that sometimes no matter how hard you work on your marriage, when it doesn’t work out, it doesn’t work out.

So my point is that I am extra humble and grateful for a sweet moment like this.

Life is good.

Love, Tyra

Leave a comment